Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-09-07

life is in the details

|

Isn't it funny when you get a preconceived notion in your head and it refuses to give up its hold on you? A couple of years ago, on my way to dropping my kid off to school, I noticed a man working in his yard. He was wearing greyish-blue hospital scrubs and Crocs while he randomly pulled weeds from the garden.

I immediately decided he was a doctor -- a surgeon, no less. He sort of resembles that actor who played the doctor on "Seinfeld." You may recall he was the doctor who came into the hallway to tell George his fiance Susan had died from licking tainted envelopes. The doctor was short, stocky, bald on top with a fringe of brown hair around the sides. He wore glasses atop his bald head. Well the guy in his yard looks very similar to that actor.

So based on seeing this dude once in hospital scrubs I have decided he is a wealthy surgeon who is nearing the end of an illustrious career. I see him randomly as I drive to school.

I just saw him yesterday and he was in the back yard (his two-story house is on the corner allowing a view of the front and back yard) wearing dress pants, a long-sleeved shirt and tie. I decided yesterday he didn't have any operations scheduled, it was simply a day to perform rounds at the hospital. I figured he would don his white hospital coat and stethoscope once he arrived at the hospital.

For some reason I imagine he is not too arrogant, the way I assume most surgeons are. I'm betting I am projecting the actor's portrayal of a doctor onto this guy. Plus, he seems like he is into his garden and that it may be a release from the tension and stress of work. I imagine tending to the garden is a metaphor for how he tends to his patients.

Yup, I gleaned all of this from a chance encounter while waiting at a stop sign a couple of years ago.

Do other people think like this? Do any of you experience the details of life? To me, this is normal. But for as long as I can remember, people have told me that I am the only one noticing these things.

I imagine those people have pretty boring lives if that is the case.



I need to file this under "It Never Hurts to Ask." I told you about my negotiating tactics at the car dealer.

Well, just recently my much beloved Tweeze (pronounced twee-zie, like Weezie [Louise's nickname] from "The Jeffersons") died. Just stopped working. New batteries didn't help. Shaking it and screaming at it didn't help. Letting it rest and asking it to please start up again didn't help either. So I had to call the online company I ordered it from and beg for mercy see what the return policy was. Of course the purchase is good for 90 days and I have owned the Tweeze for a good six months.

I told Mary, the CSR, how much I loved the Tweeze and wondered if she had a number for the manufacturer. She didn't. So I told her I would, indeed, be purchasing another one for $19.99. That is how much I love my Tweeze. She asked me to hold for one minute.

When she returned she gave me fantastic news. She had talked to her supervisor and they are going to send me a NEW Tweeze. For FREE! A replacement Tweeze!

Have I mentioned how much I love my Tweeze? I am a power user, I'll admit it. My goal is to tweeze my entire legs and eventually throw away my disposable razors.

I asked Mary if I should return the Tweeze that died. She said no, thanks. I told her I would keep it for parts and if I had to, I would pimp my new Tweeze.

She laughed.

Lesson here: I didn't even have to ask for a new one, all I did was ask for the manufacturer's phone number. But I still felt the love.

|

2007-09-07 at 6:30 a.m.

last post | next post