Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-08-27

I've actually come a long way

|


I made crepes this weekend. Yeah. You read that right. I made crepes like a master chef from Belgium. To borrow a line from "Seinfeld," they were real and they were spectacular.

Thank you Ann for your awesome crepes recipe and easy-to-follow instructions. I even bought Nutella on her recommendation and that was delicious as well! We got jiggy with it and tried crepes filled with fresh strawberries and powdered sugar. Equally as tasty.

Now let me explain why this is so amazing. Cardiogirl making crepes is sort of like a domesticated house cat sprouting wings and taking flight, diving and swooping right in front of your very eyes, perhaps even floating in place like a hummingbird. It never happens.

I even sifted the flour! I. Sifted. Flour. I own a sifter; who knew? I don't remember purchasing it, but reading that part of her recipe made me remember I have seen a hand-held sifter in my own kitchen before. At the time, I thought, 'Screw that, I'll just put the flour in unsifted.'

But Ann has clearly worked with naysayers before. She writes, "I rarely sift flour for recipes, but I find that I must for crepes. Otherwise the batter is lumpy. Crepes are so thin, they are unforgiving. No lumps allowed."

That statement is the sole reason I sifted the flour. And my batter was lump free, baby! Say it with me, "Lump free."

You're probably wondering why I am so ecstatic over the preparation of a mere food item. If you knew me in high school and college you would be as amazed as I am. I have done a 180 in terms of personality.


Cardiogirl The College Student held the following beliefs:

"I do not think marriage is in the cards for me." (We just celebrated 13 years of marriage.)

"I do not like cats and will never own one." (My husband and I owned two cats for the first ten years of our marriage on my insistence.)

"I will never have children, my biological clock is digital -- I hear no ticking. In fact, I would like a hysterectomy for Christmas." (I now have three children.)

"I don't know how to cook or what to cook. If I ever had children I wouldn't know what to feed them. (Enter my new-found ability to prepare restaurant quality crepes! And now homemade pizza, another easy-to-follow, success-guaranteed recipe from Ann.)

"I don't know how to sew." (I now own a sewing machine and have made at least six quilts and four dolls.)


So Cardiogirl The Blogging Mother of Three that you (sort of) know has come a very long way from Cardiogirl The College Student. And I must say, I'm quite proud of her.

*

Sending out a thank you: I'm sending an extra 1000 strides on the elliptical trainer to chaosdaily who added me as a favorite recently. Thanks chaos!

*

My reminder which will go away on September 1, 2007:
Don't forget my goal of getting enough votes so I can donate money to Gilda's Club. You don't have to leave your name or your e-mail address, just anonymously click the the thumbs up icon at this website. That's all it takes!

|

2007-08-27 at 6:34 a.m.

last post | next post