Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-08-22

some updates

|

Yesterday I was pondering how the spider in my dining room made a web that extended vertically, essentially defying gravity. I didn't search the internet for the answer until today and this is what I found.

The most difficult part seems to be the first thread. Does the spider fly? Does she throw a line to the other side? Does she walk down and up at the other side carrying a thread that she attaches between the two sides?

No, none of these ideas are true. The solution is simple. The spider releases a sticky thread that is blown away with the wind. If the breeze carried the silken line to a spot where it sticks the first bridge is formed. The spider cautiously crosses along the thin line reinforcing it with a second line. She enforces the line until it is strong enough.

I'm going to go with this answer, but I still wonder what kind of breeze is traipsing about in my domesticated dining room. I am a typical American, I have central air conditioning and rarely open the windows (hangs head in shame). The air is on a timer and doesn't usually kick in until 6 pm, to cool the house for the evening. I realize the spider could bide its time and wait for the right moment when the air is on, but it seems like a lot of effort. I also realize the web is probably lighter than air, almost, and it would only take a slight stirring to move the sticky thread the spider is releasing.

Good thing I'm not a spider. I'm not patient enough.

I haven't forgotten about the life-sized dolls I made for my daughters. I need to sew more hair on their heads before I take a picture. I want to present my best effort, you know. I can't have these dolls looking like Krystal and Alexis (from Aaron Spelling's wonderful nighttime soap opera "Dynasty") after they were in a cat fight with bits of hair ripped out of their heads. I am excited, though, because I am using two different colors of brown yarn to create highlights in the dolls' hair (which is similar to my two daughters' hair color). It looks pretty good, if I do say so myself.

Meanwhile, the pooper scooping business is still forging on. However, my seven-year-old has decided she is not working anymore because it "smells bad." My four-year-old and I have diligently worked (this is the third week of the four week stint) and she earned all of last week's proceeds.

The earnings so far are $10 for Katie and $27 for Allison (after two weeks of work). It rained crazily on Sunday and Monday so Allison and I cleaned up yesterday (on Tuesday) once the rain stopped. That was not cool and I did not enjoy it. The rain was heavy and it created a stew, if you will, of our work.

I'm so glad that's done. Hear me now and believe me later: I am never going to own a dog. Thankfully our contract only extends until August 31, 2007 and then our business venture is complete. That is the day we are going shopping at Somerset Mall to buy Allison's Hello Kitty stuffed animal at Build-A-Bear Workshop and some outfits for Hello Kitty. Katie will also shop with us, but she's going to spend her $10 at Limited Too. She's proving to be quite the stubborn child and my guess is that she will have but $10 to spend on August 31.

The kid in me wants to keep the scooping business up (myself) until I earn enough money for a new pair of Converse low tops. I wonder if they have a polka dot design; that would be cool.

*

My reminder which will go away on September 1, 2007:

Don't forget my goal of getting enough votes so I can donate money to Gilda's Club. You don't have to leave your name or your e-mail address, just anonymously click the the thumbs up icon at this website. That's all it takes!

|

2007-08-22 at 6:58 a.m.

last post | next post