Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-08-01

people, you gotta love 'em

|

Here's a quick addendum to yesterday's post and then we will move on to current events. I had such a nice time yesterday people watching and enjoying the sun. I highly recommend communing with nature to calm one's mind. And, as usual, there were many notes of interest.

First and foremost, it still stands that people want personal space. There were roughly three park benches all about 20 to 30 feet away from each other and throughout the course of three hours each bench was inhabited, on and off, by just one person. Not once did I see two people on a park bench.

Conversely, every person I saw who was alone was talking on a cell phone, with the exception of one man who looked like he was on a break from work and was presumably walking to his car. Okay, I did see three people who were alone and not on a cell phone but each one was riding a bike. They don't count because I think it would be too difficult to ride a bike and talk on a cell phone. Or is that like walking and chewing gum?

So as I sat there soaking up the fresh air I was struck by the paradox. People want personal space, time alone, but they don't want to be by themselves. They want to be on the phone talking to someone they know. I thought how strange it was that two people, on two separate park benches, wouldn't just sit next to each other and strike up a conversation.

I did not see anyone else, like myself, sitting and observing. In my opinion, people are in too much of a hurry. They need to slow down and enjoy the elements. But maybe they're trying to create chaos in their own heads to avoid what's really lurking inside. I don't know. All I know is that I hear noise all day long all around me and I crave silence, time alone. I guess that makes me an introvert in an extroverted world.

One last note: I realized that I am really attracted to a well-dressed man. One who wears nice dress pants, a crisp dress shirt and a tie. Probably because you never see that anymore. I did see lots of men in khakis and polo shirts; it wasn't the same.

The one man I saw who was not on a cell phone, and who I assumed was on a break from work walking to his car, was dressed that way.

He had really nice beige pants, I don't know what kind of fabric they were made of, but they were not Dockers. Maybe they had some kind of silk blend to them, but they hung very well and they had a cuff on the bottom. He wore leather dress shoes, had a long-sleeve white dress shirt and a tie. He was the only man I saw who was dressed that way and I really enjoyed the view even though it was for such a short time (tips head to the side, looks at the ceiling and relives the moment in her mind as a small smile spreads across her face.)

Oh, right (nervous chuckle) back to what we were talking about, she said flustered and clearing her throat. Today's post.

Isn't there some kind of etiquette regarding returning empty pop cans? I know the folks in most of these United States don't have to return the cans for the deposit. They just recycle them. But here in Michigan, and a couple of other states, you pay ten cents when you buy the pop (that's right, not soda) and when you are done drinking it you return the can and get the ten cents back.

The grocery store has machines that accept glass bottles and machines that accept plastic and aluminum cans. Two separate machines. So I was standing in line a while ago with my five bags of aluminum cans waiting for a machine to open. I was the first person in a long line and that meant when the next aluminum accepting machine opened it should be my turn, right?

Well, a guy who had been depositing glass bottles into a glass accepting machine finished, got his receipt and then stood directly in front of me with his eight bags of aluminum cans.

Now I thought I had a pretty good poker face. Turns out I was wrong.

I just looked at him, I did not utter one word. He looked back at me and said, (in a dopey, low voice) "What? I already stood in line. I'm going to finish returning my cans when the next aluminum accepting maching opens."

I never said a word. I just looked at him.

Then he felt the need to turn around and say again to me, "I already waited in line. I'm not going to the back of the line."

I'm a peace loving gal. I'd rather make love than war, so I stewed in silence and waited in line for the next machine to open. I didn't feel like getting into an argument at the grocery store.

I did silently put a hex on his line jumping ass, though.

|

2007-08-01 at 7:43 a.m.

last post | next post