Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-07-27

mental brain dump

|

I'll be gone fishing this weekend so nothing new until Monday morning. We are leaving to visit the in-laws and I absolutely cannot wait to get into the car with three small children for five hours. It is going to rock like Duran Duran! (In case you didn't notice, that would be sarcasm. For some reason, our seven-year-old has started to pick up on that. I wonder where she gets it from? She has asked me in the past, "Mom, why would you say you are excited about something you don't want to do?" Oh, child, stick with me and you will learn the ins and outs of irony. Quick side note: I always thought humor fueled my sarcasm. Paula tells me it is anger that produces sarcasm. I'm cool with that, I'm still not giving up my coping mechanism.)

In other news, I have learned that the chunk version of Nestle Chocolate Chips yields the same type of cookie that the traditional chip version does. In a non-scientific blind taste test (between me and my husband) nothing of consequence was noted. I think the price is the same, so if you're looking for some strange, don't bother with Nestle's chunk version.

Moving along, don't most people have a dedicated toothbrush in their arsenal of tools against dirt in the house? I have three such toothbrushes. One is for the second floor bathroom, it is yellow and lives far, far away from the actual toothbrush that enters my mouth. No chance of mixing those two up.

The second one is purple and it is housed in a basket under the kitchen sink on the first floor. That one has hard bristles, because dirt and grime in the kitchen (and sometimes in the dining room) can be especially tenacious. It is so satisfying to me to get the grime out of the grooves of the many dials on the dishwasher. I just did that yesterday and man, does that baby shine!

The third, and last, toothbrush resides in the basement. Rubbish does not take a vacation, people, not even in the bowels of the house. That toothbrush, gray in color, is on its last leg. I do need to get a new one down there, the bristles were too soft to begin with and now they are bent back rendering the scrubbing action somewhat ineffective. That one helps me clean the second bathroom and the lid and surrounding opening of the washing machine, among other things. I don't know what it is, but the lid of the washing machine gets pretty crazy at my house. And that, my friends, is unacceptable.

I know, we are jumping about like a drop of water on a hot griddle. I guess I'm just doing a mental dump before we leave.

Last note, am I the only one who remembers the "Coffee Achievers" ad campaign of the 1980s? Believe it or not kids, there was a time when Starbucks and Caribou Coffee did not exist on every street corner. So back then, to drum up business, The National Coffee Association took it upon themselves to urge Americans to drink more coffee. Sounds crazy now, doesn't it?

I would love to be remembered the way Englishman William Harvey (circa 1599) was when he died. A short article in the Boston Globe Online states, "On his deathbed, he was even said to have held a coffee bean between his fingers and declared, 'This little bean is the source of all happiness and wit!' "

Amen, brutha. Give me coffee or give me death.

|

2007-07-27 at 7:55 a.m.

last post | next post