Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-06-30

things that annoy me

|

Today I feel the need to discuss the things that annoy me. I'm not in a particularly rageful mood, although I have been in the last couple of days. Can anyone guess why? (My apologies to any male readers out there, though I believe I skew to an all-chick audience, so the apology is probably unnecessary.)

This brings me to the first item on the list. If you're going to label yourself as Super Absorbant you should be fully saturated before you allow any leakage. If we were discussing gas tanks on vehicles, this would be grounds for a recall, wouldn't it? Yes, it would. There would be lawsuits, claims of false advertising would be bandied about and full-scale mayhem would ensue.

[Okay, I don't want Chris anyone getting technical on me and pointing out that a gas tank contains liquid and a tampon absorbs liquid, thus the two are not compatible in terms of comparison. This is my diatribe and we are going to assume the two are comparable. Thanks for being a good sport, Chris :)]

Next, for some reason I always place the one pound container of coffee directly in front of the "on" light on the coffee maker. So whenever I attempt to make sure I turned off the coffee maker before I leave the house I can't see the light. The coffee container is blocking the light. Each day, when I glance from the front door I try to lean over to the side, to see if I can see it without walking into the kitchen. I spend enough time leaning to and fro that I could have spent the same amount of time walking to the container, moving it and walking back. Each day I curse myself for putting that damn coffee container in front of the light. And each day, I leave the container on the counter instead of putting it back inside the fridge, where we usually store it.

Moving on, why, on cartoons, are the concepts not universal? I am referring to shows where the main characters are speaking animals and yet said animals have pets, which are also animals, that do not speak?! Franklin is guilty of this. So is Oswald. As is Blue's Clues, although Blue's Clues has inanimate objects (Shovel and Pail, Side Table) that talk and yet the main character, Blue (a dog) can't really talk. She barks and sort of sounds out words in a bark-speak that is not easily understood, hence the need to leave clues so one can figure out what the hell she is trying to say. There is also a cat on Blue's Clues, named Periwinkle, who talks clearly.

If I'm going to suspend my disbelief, there needs to be some semblence of order. That's all I'm saying.

Last on the list is the milk sale at Kroger's. Routinely Kroger's will sell half-gallon containers of milk for $1 each. Simple math will tell you the purchase of one full gallon of milk (via two half-gallon containers) can be purchased for the amazingly low price of $2. And on the very same day, a full gallon container of milk at Kroger's can cost anywhere from $2.99 to $3.49. Why do they do this?

Clearly, they are trying to move the half-gallon containers. The sell-by dates are all good dates. They're not trying to move old product. Why do they want to sell more half-gallon containers of milk than full gallon containers? I need at least one full gallon. I am going to buy two of the half gallon containers. Who would pay more to buy the full gallon container? Does that milk in the full gallon containers go bad because no one is buying it? It doesn't make sense to me.

All I want is to live in a world with clearly defined boundaries. If it's labeled Super Absorbant I should be dehydrated at the end of the day. Is that too much to ask?

|

2007-06-30 at 9:29 a.m.

last post | next post