Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-05-06

gotta love Bravo

|

I love the shows on Bravo. It all started with Project Runway. Now, I'll be the first one to admit it. They found a vehicle with Project Runway that worked and then they kind of re-vamped it to death with Top Chef, Shear Genius, Top Design and Work Out. But I still find myself drawn to the shows.

Okay, Work Out isn't a competition show like the other ones. It's more like a running commentary on the gym owner's life. Sort of like a quasi-soap opera but I really like Jackie Warner. Somehow I feel like I could be friends with her.

But on to the competition shows. This latest offering, Shear Genius, is a bunch of hair dressers competing each week to become the top hair dresser. Now, just like with fashion design, I have no understanding of what makes a great hair do or what makes a great dress. I usually don't like the designs (clothes or hair) that they come up with. The ones I like are really bland styles that play well in the Midwest (like the black cocktail dress that 6-months pregnant designer Laura created on the last season of Project Runway). Then the judges are like, "That's too safe -- show us what you're made of!"

Anyway, on the last episode of Shear Design that I watched, the competition was to take long hair to short. I am a complete wuss when it comes to my hair. I do not take risks; I do not wear it short. I freak out when I have to go to the hairdresser. I always tell them to leave it long enough to put it in a ponytail. I have to have an escape hatch.

Side note: one hair dresser told me she can't stand it when she cuts someone's hair and then she sees her, outside of the shop, put her hair in a ponytail. After hearing that comment I waited until I got into my car to put my hair in a ponytail.

So all of these models had long hair that was at least to the middle of their backs. One hair dresser used clippers, like a barber uses, to cut the model's hair into a super short style. I'm talking the longest piece of hair on her head had to be less than two inches.

If I were her I would have been crying. Big, drippy, wet tears. To her credit, she did try to give a chin up attitude, like 'I can work with this. It is cute.'

That guy did not win the challenge, but he didn't get sent home, either.

|

2007-05-06 at 7:56 a.m.

last post | next post