Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-01-22

wwyd volume 1 answer

|

Yesterday I posed the first scenario of "What Would You Do?" Now it's time to give the answer. This is what I did.

I sat on the hip adductor machine and nervously did half a set until I couldn't take his rudeness anymore. Then, I acted like I was done with that machine and politely moved on to a different machine like the little mouse that I am.

Yes, that's right. I did absolutely nothing. Except squirm internally. Then I reverted to my regular modus operandi and successfully avoided him for the last six months.

I know. You're shaking your head in disgust. I am too, believe it or not. It's important to me to try to be a good, polite person. I want to be proud of my behavior rather than hang my head in shame. I really don't like cliques and little groups in society that exclude others. (Yes, this is remnant baggage from high school.)

My theory is to lead by example. I'm not looking to invite society's unwanted, but if they say hello I say hi in return so as not to exclude. I know what it feels like to be on the receiving end of an arrogant attitude. It feels like shit. However, many folks out there take that as an open invitation to walk all over me.

I know I need to find the right balance. I do have a tendency to be an all or nothing kind of gal. I thought once I realized that, the behavior would stop. Not so. I just realize that I am prone to it and now I have to work on finding a middle ground.

Somehow I freeze like a deer in headlights when someone says or does something inappropriate. Then I go liquid and let them run the show. Have you figured out that I would rather chew my own arm off than engage in confrontation? Another issue I'm working on.

I guess I am stunned into silence when people are so bold. I don't act that way; why would other people be that way? Going forward, I figure if I can come up with an all-encompassing answer I'll have something to pull out of my toolkit when someone shows up with an inappropriate request.

The first answer that pops to mind is, "Fuck off." But I don't think that would be too polite. I guess I'll have to go back to the drawing board on that one.


*


Another overdue thanks: I'm sending an extra 1000 strides on the elliptical trainer to nilliem who added me as a favorite a while ago. Thanks Nilliem!

|

2007-01-22 at 5:58 a.m.

last post | next post