Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-01-19

some stuff is still personal

|

It's so funny to me the assumptions people make based on the limited facts they have access to. A perfect example is the number of children you have correlating to your boudoir activity.

We have three children, six and under. When we announced we were expecting child number three, somehow the conversation always ended with insinuations about how active we were. Now I will admit that if you have seven children, it stands to reason you are pretty darn vigorous when it comes to matters of affection.

But my husband and I frequently laugh about that, seeing as the product of that activity (our children) usually prevents us from engaging in more of that activity. It usually ends up that we're too tired, one of our kids wakes up in the middle of the night with a mini-crisis that requires immediate attention or it's the middle of the afternoon on a Saturday and the older two don't take naps anymore.

Maybe I'm old-fashioned, but I would never say to someone who has any number of children: wow, you two sure have a lot of sex, don't you? Just like I would never ask someone what they paid for their house or how much they make each year. I think some things are still personal, but society at large doesn't seem to agree with me.

So many people - friends, family and strangers, alike - ask us point blank: Is your husband going to have a vasectomy? Woah, ginga. I do not know you well enough to answer that question. That's extremely personal, at least that's how we feel, and we don't discuss that with anyone. Our families have finally figured that out. But it hasn't stopped strangers.

So my pat answer has become, that's something my husband and I will have to discuss. Maybe I should go with the old stand by: that's none of your business.


*


Another overdue thanks: I'm sending an extra 1000 strides on the elliptical trainer to groovn-girl who added me as a favorite a while ago. Thanks Groovn-girl!

|

2007-01-19 at 9:26 a.m.

last post | next post