Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2006-12-07

the morning rush

|

Have you ever seen the episode of "Seinfeld" where Elaine has a boyfriend visiting from out of town for a week and she is desperate to get him out of her apartment and back on a plane? That's how I feel each morning when I am trying to get my 6-year-old ready for school.

She's just like the boyfriend who is unaware and slowly going about his business in the morning. He's asking Elaine why she's in such a rush; he tells her to slow down that he can catch the next plane, meanwhile Elaine is running about like a madwoman trying to GET HIM OUT.

Cut to me trying to put a sock on my kid while she is intently watching "The Wild Thornberrys." Her legs are lifeless and rubbery, the sock is catching on her big toe and I am in a race against time.

As I thread her arms through the sleeves of her coat, I am trying to make her walk to the door as her neck is craning backwards to catch the last glimpse of Eliza talking to her monkey Darwin. It is only when I shut the door while saying "Have a good day, I love you" that I exhale and begin to relax.

This is the routine twice a week (Tuesday and Thursday) when my husband drives her to school.

The other three days are more intense as I have to perform that routine on two kids (my 3-year-old attends pre-school at the same school). Then five minutes before we walk out the door I have to wake a sleeping baby which, as any parent can attest to, is a crime in itself.

But motherhood is priceless and I wouldn't trade these moments for anything.

At least I think that's what you're supposed to tell yourself to make it through the day.

|

2006-12-07 at 8:28 a.m.

last post | next post