Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2006-10-31

lipstick follow-up and music

|

I don�t know if you care, but in case you do, I thought I would tie up a loose end. I took the plunge yesterday and invested $1.05 in Lipstick Color 511B.

I�m happy to admit 511B did not disappoint! On closer inspection, it appears 511B shares the same DNA that 511A does. Rite Aid only had one tube, so I will be trolling other stores to stockpile a collection of my new best buddy, 511B.

Oh it�s so nice to have a color I can depend on.


***


While I was driving home from the Y this morning I was thinking how difficult, if not impossible, it is to write a description of music. I was listening to Carrie Underwood�s song �Before He Cheats.�

First, let me share my favorite part of the lyrics:


I dug my key into the side of his pretty little suped up four-wheel drive/
carved my name into his leather seat... /
I took a Louisville slugger to both head lights,/
slashed a hole in all four tires.../
And maybe next time he'll think before he cheats./

So I was trying to figure out how to describe the music after she sings the lyrics �and maybe next time he�ll think before he cheats.� That�s what brought me to my conclusion that it�s hard to describe a melody via words.

The music slows down and is sort of like a twinkling guitar/bell and it has such an ominous sound to it. Kind of like Carrie Underwood is channeling a psychotic Glenn Close from �Fatal Attraction.�

I understand where Carrie is coming from. She�s just trying to save the next girl the trouble of being cheated on, so she�s going to give her former boyfriend a lesson he will never forget.

I tend to enjoy those types of songs/lyrics. I think it�s because I am quite repressed and such a rule-follower that I would never do anything like that, BUT I have felt that way on occasion.

So it�s kind of fun to imagine getting revenge, however, the logical side of my brain wants to know if the boyfriend called the cops and got her arrested since she admits she did carve her name into his seats. That makes it pretty easy to know who�s responsible for the damage, and I would guess she forgot to bring gloves with her to avoid leaving fingerprints.

I think it�s pretty clear I have difficulty suspending my disbelief. That darn logic keeps getting in the way.

|

2006-10-31 at 8:56 a.m.

last post | next post