Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-09-05

works for me Wednesday stain removal

|

Today is Works for Me Wednesday over at Rocks in My Dryer. Our topic is The Brand-Loyal Edition and these are the products I have found to be extremely useful in the war against stains.

Mr. Clean Magic Eraser


I would be remiss if I did not proclaim my undying love for this cleaning item, first and foremost. I love that sponge! It makes cleaning the microwave a breeze, takes crayon off the walls without removing the paint and gets rid of those black scuff marks that seem to appear all over the linoleum floor at my house.

The Tide StainBrush


This thing is a miracle gadget! I cannot rave enough about it. I really feel like I have found a stun gun when it comes to wrangling feisty stains. This tool smacks down like no one's business. It is a crime against humanity if you do not own one.

My two older daughters have potty training down (thank you Lord). But they are both severely lacking when it comes to wiping methods. This means I am routinely looking at skid marks that would make the race track at the Indy 500 blush by comparison. These otherwise cute Hello Kitty briefs have become the bane of my existence. They are single-handedly responsible for multiple lacerations on my knuckles.

And then the Tide StainBrush came floating down on a fluffy cloud and changed all that. I no longer fear the brown streak. I no longer sigh heavily when I pick up sullied clothes that have been who-knows-where from their bedroom floor. I have the Tide StainBrush in my pocket, baby.

Bring it on.

Dishwashing liquid (like Dawn or Palmolive)


When combined with soaking the offending garment in cold water for a couple of days, this combination will usually dissolve the stain.

A particularly ardent stain will require extra scrubbing with the dishwashing liquid, but for the most part the stain will come out. And if you need to scrub, you can use your Tide StainBrush.

Any brand of shampoo will remove blood stains from clothing


I have used Suave and I have used Costco's store brand, Kirkland, with great success. Depending on the intensity of the stain, you may have to rinse and repeat, as directed on the bottle. But the stain will come out. If it is a particularly austere blot and it insists on leaving a faint remnant of its former glory, you simply douse the remainder with 3% hydrogen peroxide.

Armed with this knowledge you, too, can be a Laundry Warrior. Just like Cardiogirl.

Extra blog tip: If you're interested in getting a double link per post, go check out Electric Venom. This is an opportunity to raise your Page Ranking by getting a return link.

|

2007-09-05 at 5:24 a.m.

last post | next post