Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-08-19

not so young but still in love

|

This is going to be sappy and sweet, so prepare to vomit, brush your teeth or both after you read this. And remember, keep your hands inside the ride at all times.

Today is our 13th wedding anniversary. On my children's birthdays and our anniversary I like to take a trip down memory lane and think about what I was doing at various times during that day.

My husband and I were married on a Friday night at 6 pm Mass. I had been living at my sister's house, because the lease on my apartment had expired at the end of June and I was too freaked out to "live" with my husband before we were married. What can I say, I'm a good Catholic girl through and through. So the house was abuzz with activity by 8 in the morning.

I remember getting ready and having thoughts like, 'This is the last time I will brush my hair as a single girl! This is the last time I will wear nylons as a single girl! So we took pictures of my side of the family at the house in the early afternoon and then met up at church around 4 pm, I think.

Sitting nervously in a side room with the bridesmaids, I waited for the action to begin. Someone opened the door and my (future) husband was right there, further away, but within eye sight. We both saw each other for a split second and we both quickly looked away while hubby walked out of sight, because as everyone knows it's bad luck to see the bride or groom before the wedding. I was disappointed about that, but thankfully not enough to obsess on it.

Then the music started and everyone was in place. I was most nervous about the church ceremony because my husband and I were literally up on a stage (on the altar) during the entire mass and I am not keen on being the center of attention. But, as my father and I walked down the aisle and I made eye contact with my intended I felt the love inside of me swell up like a geyser. The smile on my face grew wider and wider as we approached him. Just seeing him waiting there for me made me want to run to him. I felt a strong pull toward him, like a magnet catching me within its force field.

My dad gave him my hand and we looked into each other's eyes as we quietly whispered, "Hi." While I was nervous about the ceremony, I felt such calm and tranquility just standing next to my husband. The love radiating from him wrapped around me like a warm blanket.

For me, the best part of our wedding ceremony was minutes after we walked back down the aisle, announced to the world for the first time as Mr. and Mrs. We stepped into a side nook near the entrance of the church and shared a private kiss and a hug.

I can still feel his arms around my waist, my cheek against his cheek, my lips next to his ear. I whispered, "I love you and I am so happy to be Mrs. Cardiogirl."

And he replied, with his lips pressed to my ear, "Let's go start our life together, Mrs. Cardiogirl."


|

2007-08-19 at 7:32 a.m.

last post | next post