Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-08-12

some updates

|

Those life-sized dolls are going to be the death of me. I'm almost done. I know, you're waiting with baited breath. Well you're just going to have to be a tad more patient. I did get the faces sewn on and closed the heads. I'm working on hair now with a new, Cardiogirl-trademarked technique. I'm very excited because in the past I have sewn yarn hair on a homemade doll and it's kinda sparse. It ended up looking like a crazy monk's ponytail, you know the Hare Krishnas at the airport who have a shaved head and then one long ponytail on top of their heads? That's what the other doll I made looks like.

So when my kid's babysitter, Rachel, and I were talking about the dolls we both came up with this idea of layers at the same time. It's working out well, but it's very time consuming. I know, you could really give a rat's ass about my trademarked technique, but it's going to be fabulous! Hear me now and believe me later.

And yes, I am still dying a little of fright every time I catch a glimpse of the dolls out of the corner of my eye, in case you're wondering. At this rate, I'll be dead by the time I'm 45. But the girls love them, and that's all that counts, right?

Our canine cleaning crew has completed one week of business and it is time to deliver the invoices. We did learn that client number two down the street with the German Shepherd actually has two dogs. A German Shepherd and a Great Dane. Another thing we learned this week: The bigger the dog, the bigger the log. There's a reason why everyone compares a Great Dane to a horse.

As they were cleaning that mess I asked the girls if they still wanted a dog. My four-year-old answered quickly and emphatically, "NO!" My seven-year-old said, "Well. Not a big dog." I thought that was amusing.

Okay, time to get on my soapbox. I had fallen off the exercise bandwagon a little bit before The Black Week as I have come to call it. And once I was in the throes of anxiety/depression I just didn't want to leave the house. Well, as luck would have it the anxiety lifted and I have returned to the land of the living.

On Friday I went back to the Y and did my weight routine. This is where I step up on my soapbox. I just cannot put into words how fantastic and strong I feel (physically as well as mentally) after I lift weights. Don't get me wrong, a cardio workout is great, too. But for me, I have a different feeling after a cardio workout versus a weight workout.

A cardio workout makes me feel good, like I am sweating out toxins. But a cardio workout is more intense and physically draining. It's kind of like eating spinach, even though I do like spinach. I think spinach gets a bad rap, but I digress. I consider a cardio workout to be more difficult than a weight lifting workout. However, I know it's good for me (just like spinach.) A stint on the elliptical machine makes me feel that I have "done more" in my ongoing effort to lose weight.

But back to my point. All of those scientists out there are correct. Those would be the fine folks who discovered that endorphin production increases when you exercise, thereby creating a positive lift in your mood. Exercise really does make you feel better!

Stepping off the soapbox now, folding the scrap of paper my speech was written on and slipping it into my back pocket. Waves goodbye.

|

2007-08-12 at 7:46 a.m.

last post | next post