Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-08-10

an update and the reader's mailbag

|

A couple of months ago my parents came to my house so we could all go out to lunch. My dad isn't a very patient man so I was rushing frantically to get all of the kids' seat belts buckled (so he wouldn't have to wait in his own car too long) and I jammed my left ring finger against the head rest of one of the seats. For some reason it will not heal or, more accurately, it still hurts.

Now if we are to employ Paula's Theory, she would say symbolically this must represent my marriage (since it's the finger on which I wear my wedding ring) and would question me thusly, "Is your marriage healthy or is it, to use your own words Cardiogirl, 'jammed up?' " Unless I'm in complete and total denial, I would say my marriage is fine. I asked Mr. Cardiogirl what he thought of our marriage and he thought it was fine and dandy, too. Note to Paula: sometimes an injury is just an injury. But I suppose you can psychoanalyze anything and somehow connect the dots.

So I'm making progress on those life-sized dolls. We stuffed them yesterday at my parent's house and I safety pinned the heads closed because I didn't feel like sewing them shut. It takes quite a while to stuff two four-foot dolls, in case you're wondering. Plus it's easier to sew the face on if you can work from inside the head. If you don't sew, that won't make sense and it's too early for me to really explain what I mean. You're just going to have to trust me on this one.

Webmiss asked if I was going to post a picture of the final project. Yes, I'll take a picture and then you can see for yourself why I have been consistently freaked out ever since I finished stuffing them.

I startle easily, that's a little nugget left over from childhood, and each time I catch a glimpse of these dolls out of the corner of my eye I die a little inside from fright. I am pretty good at stifling a scream as I have previously documented here. But just because I can hold the scream in doesn't mean my brain isn't rattled. I don't know if the dolls will stop looking like Children of the Corn or not once I get a face and hair on them. I hope so.

Time for the Reader's Mailbag Section, (cue the theme music). Lambert asked if I made the watercolor workout chick at the top of the page.

The long answer is basically yes with a little dash of no. I can't draw very well but I wanted to change this site so it was more reflective of me. So I went in search of images and found something that I didn't really like but was sort of close to what I wanted. (One thing I had to add was the ponytail. I don't leave the house without the ponytail. There are people in my life who have never seen me without a ponytail. Gotta have the ponytail.)

Then I traced re-drew it to add what I wanted and to delete what I didn't want. I did that in pencil. When I was finished I went over the lines with a black felt tip pen. Then I cracked out my kid's water colors and a paper towel. I mixed and blotted until I got what you see there. Then I scanned it, added the text and imported it.

Now for the short answer. Yes, I made the image at the top of the site.

Addendum: Like my favorite comedienne/celebrity Kathy Griffin I am a D-Lister, too!

D-List Blogger

The Low Authority Group [D-List Bloggers]

(3-9 blogs linking in the last 6 months)

The average blog age (the number of days that the blog has been in existence) is about 228 days, which shows a real commitment to blogging. However, bloggers of this type average only 12 posts per month, meaning that their posting habits are generally dedicated but infrequent.

So NOT true! I post daily, baby! I was robbed, plain and simple.

|

2007-08-10 at 7:24 a.m.

last post | next post