Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-07-30

the power within

|

I do believe my beloved Converse low tops are forsaking me. They certainly do not provide support in any useful way. In fact, I have noticed the arches of my feet hurt on and off. I never did look to them to provide physical support. My relationship with my Chuck Taylors is purely emotional. And in that respect, Mr. Taylor has delivered abundantly. But it was suggested recently that I purchase some Dr. Scholl inserts (!) to help my shoes help me.

I could go on and on about the emotional damage that comment made regarding feeling old and losing my hip edge, but I won't bore you with that stuff. (Just kidding, I'll never be old as long as my feet sport a spankin' pair of low tops.)

What really happened was that I took an unexpectedly long walk the other day wearing my low tops instead of my running shoes. Those are the boring ones that I wear when I work out. No style, no finesse. Just all white and lots of support and padding. You know, like wearing a huge gortex snow suit in the middle of winter. Functional? Yes. Warm? Yes. Keeps you safe from the elements? Yes. Cool, in a fashion sense? Not a chance.

That reminds me of my college roommate, Tonya. I love that girl, she is so cool. Anyway, we met in college as roommates and became fast friends. During our freshman year she had a sweet Army jacket that she wore in the middle of winter. It didn't have any kind of lining, it was sort of like the tarp you would find on a tent.

So one winter day, when the wind chill was surely below zero, she and I were trudging across campus to class and I asked her, "Aren't you cold in that jacket?" And she said, "No. I have inner warmth radiating out of me."

I thought that was such a profound statement at the time. That's sort of how I feel when I have my Chucks on, except I would amend that statement to say "I have inner strength radiating out of me." They sort of make me feel like Clark Kent -- Superman's alter ego. I don't quite feel like a super hero, per se, but I feel like I have a super hero within.

And that's what it's all about, isn't it?

*

Sending out a thank you: I'm sending an extra 1000 strides on the elliptical trainer to diary--user who added me as a favorite recently. Thanks Katy!

|

2007-07-30 at 6:32 a.m.

last post | next post