Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-07-08

things that make me happy

|

Ah, "Big Brother" is back on the air. I admit it; I'm a junkie. I love that show. It's the only show I watch, not because I am uppity about television, but because I don't have much opportunity to watch. I think I like it so much because of the scheming, the alliances and the chance to watch the body language when someone is lying.

This is also pretty close to how my siblings operate, so it's fun to imagine who would be in my own alliance and who I would evict. In fact that's an on-going joke between me and Kim. When discussing our family we usually end the rant with, "I choose to evict Claire," and then laugh hysterically. Maybe you have to be a member of our family to appreciate the humor.

Speaking of things that make me laugh, my husband and I scheduled the babysitter last night and went out to dinner then grocery shopping at Meijer. I never, in my wildest dreams, thought a "date" with my husband would include grocery shopping, but really the point of a date is to reconnect and it doesn't matter where you do that. Anyway, at dinner he had a couple glasses of wine and was slightly tipsy. He's a fun drinker, he just becomes more laid back and more flirty with me.

So when we came out of the store he was holding the keys, even though I was driving. We have one of those remotes that locks and unlocks the doors. So he accidentally clicked the locks three times in a row so the car horn beeped three times and the lights flashed three times. And then he nonchalantly said, "It looks like the car is happy to see you."

I still find that extremely amusing.

I was just sitting here with a goofy smile on my face thinking about last night when I realized this is the smile I had when we were first engaged.

It was the middle of winter and I think I had my engagement ring for about three days. I was standing in my cubicle at work waiting for a piece of paper to come out of the printer while I was admiring my ring. I was holding my left hand up in the universal Diana-Ross-and-The-Supremes-Stop-In-The-Name-Of-Love position looking at the diamond and smiling my goofy smile. In the midst of my love-induced haze I was busted by my co-worker.

He totally caught me by surprise and said, "Yes. It is a lovely ring, but I need to get my stuff off the printer."

I don't know why I'm so sentimental today. I guess I just love my husband. For those of you throwing up a little bit in your mouths, I'll end with a couple of magnets I found via Sparkspark's website. If my life were to be summed up via images from the 1950s, I believe these would work fabulously.






|

2007-07-08 at 7:26 a.m.

last post | next post