Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-06-06

love and coffee

|

I'm still loving on Elvis and "A Little Less Conversation" just in case you're wondering. All of my life, even as a small child, it hasn't taken much to make me happy. I remember being a kid and being really excited that I got a new comb. It really is all about the details for me. I don't want a huge mansion or an expensive car. As my mom always stated, I just want some peace and quiet.

Wow could this mean, like Sheryl Crow advises in "Soak Up the Sun", that I have achieved mental nirvana? She suggests "It's not having what you want/It's wanting what you've got." I'll bet someone, somewhere, has written a thesis about Sheryl Crow lyrics and how they are changing the world. It seems like more of that stuff happens nowadays (wacky thesis topics) than it did when I was in college.

Surprisingly, and conversely I suppose, I put a lot of weight on small things. Example: It took me a good long while to actually jump in and purchase a $2.79 Iced Mocha from McDonald's. I kept thinking, what if it really sucks and I spent almost $3.00 for a drink that sucks? For some reason, I appear to be a tightwad with my cash. Yes, it's true. I've written about my inner monkey who is a cheap bastard. I'm trying to accept that side of me, but the monkey does make it difficult.

Back to the Iced Mocha. Very so-so and yes, I felt like I wasted my money. Pretty sure I will never indulge again. The coffee flavor was too bitter (in addition to being a cheapskate I am also a picky mother when it comes to food -- again, I'm trying to own it) and the mocha was barely present. It needed more cream to tone down the bitter coffee. Now if you want an awesome iced coffee drink, head on down to Tim Horton's and get yourself an Iced Cappuchino. Mr. Horton knows how to mix a drink, baby, and it's worth every penny.

So to recap: I love the little things in life but I hate spending money.

Sending out a thank you: I'm sending an extra 1000 strides on the elliptical trainer to july28 who added me as a favorite recently. Thanks July28!

|

2007-06-06 at 6:45 a.m.

last post | next post