Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-04-02

the work of the tooth fairy

|

Back when we had but one child and she was teething I had the bright Martha Stewart-inspired idea to make a Tooth Fairy Pillow. This is a small pink pillow, with a pocket on the front and a cord so the pillow can hang on the doorknob. In theory, the pillow hangs on the outside of the kid's door so you The Tooth Fairy can snag the tooth and leave cash behind.

That's a cute idea, isn't it?

That's all it ever was at this house -- a cute idea rattling around in my head. I never did make the pillow. Now our oldest kid will turn 7 in three weeks and she is losing teeth like a cat sheds hair. It seems like every other week she announces another tooth is loose.

Before I had a chance to actually create the pillow I had two more kids and the oldest one had a hole in her smile. So the precedent has been set. Plus word around school is that the Fairy leaves stuff under your pillow. I'm not sure if I can change the tradition now that she's experienced the pillow action three times.

Which brings me to last night. I am far too much of a wuss to actually remove the tooth and leave money behind. That chore is left to my husband. So last night we fell asleep around 10 after watching "Gene Simmons: Family Jewels" on A&E. I woke up around 11:30, got $2 and told my sleeping husband he needed to go retrieve the tooth. I briefly considered doing it myself. But then I thought about walking on the creaky wooden floor in my kid's room, trying to fish around beneath two pillows and the look in her sleepy eyes if she woke up and caught me red-handed.

So I shook my husband again who fell asleep with the dollars in his right hand. Before we knew it, however, the child in question woke up on her own complaining of the heat. After turning the ceiling fan on, I heard her say to my hubby, "The Tooth Fairy didn't leave anything yet!" I didn't hear his mumbled response.

Turns out he waited for her to fall asleep then came back to bed without leaving the money. But child #2 wet the bed which provided another opportunity to enter the Lion's Den. Once she was set he found the tooth, left the money and flushed the evidence down the toilet.

We make a good team, don't we? I worry and fret and he does the dirty work.

|

2007-04-02 at 6:27 a.m.

last post | next post