Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-03-26

a quick shot of reality

|

I had a rude awakening this past Saturday afternoon. My two daughters (7 and 4) and I attended the school's Mother-Daughter Tea which required us to dress in our Sunday best. Now usually, my Sunday best is a pair of dress pants and a shirt. But my daughters wore their Easter dresses and wanted me to wear a dress too, so I pulled out Old Faithful.

Old Faithful is a long red sleeveless sheath that has a blue denim short-sleeved shirt/jacket that goes with it. The dress goes a couple of inches below my knee and is somewhat shapeless so if I'm thin it just hangs and if I'm carrying some junk in the trunk (like I currently am) it sort of camouflages the situation.

So Saturday afternoon I pulled it out and put it on. Imagine my horror when Old Faithful kind of clung to my midsection and southerly parts (i.e., my ass). Ugh, that was not cool. So I put the jacket on, hoping it was going to cover my bottom, even though it ends about three inches above my waist.

No luck there.

The dress was not so tight that it caused a crease across my upper thighs. Ladies, I'm sure you know what I am talking about. But it was a little tighter than I wanted it to be. I got through the afternoon, but my psyche was bruised. Somehow I have convinced myself that I'm looking pretty good for having three kids and that I only have about six pounds to lose.

The reality is that I do look okay for having three kids. But I have about 20 pounds to lose. I want to look good, period. I don't want a qualifier out there.

Plus, none of my summer clothes currently fit me. When I lose about 20 lbs. they will fit like they used to.

It's sort of like this: Kirstie Alley looks so much better than she did. But she does not weigh 145 lbs. like she's trying to say she does. I currently weigh 167 lbs. and am 5 foot 8.5 inches -- like Kirstie (well I don't know if Kirstie has the extra half inch like I do, but we're roughly the same height). My goal weight is 145 lbs. -- just like Kirstie's is -- and I know I will get there, just like I got there after the other two pregnancies.

For some reason this time is giving me a little more trouble, but I am mentally re-dedicated. I was hesitant to write about this because it just sounds like the same old drivel with no real results, but I know there are other people out there struggling like I am. I know once I start to see a little bit of progress my motivation and excitement will catch fire and I'll be off.

Until then, I am going to try to drink more water. That's something I have always struggled with, for some reason. I once read something that said you should drink a full glass of water before any meal you eat. I'm going to try to incorporate that into the daily routine, as well.

I am also going to try to remember the feeling I had when I slipped Old Faithful over my head. That shouldn't be too difficult.

|

2007-03-26 at 9:22 a.m.

last post | next post