Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2007-03-16

why do today...

|

Why do I constantly put things off? I think everyone has a little bit of a procrastinator inside of them. We all have an inner slacker, if you will. Why that lazy little slob takes over my laundry, I have no idea. But he will not get off his behind and catch up on the white load. Bastard.

I told my neighbor last fall that we need to fire the maid. She has three kids and never shows up on time, and worst of all she won't mop the floors and gets really far behind on the laundry.

I waited for the silent "ba-dump bump" as she got my joke. See, I am the maid. This is funny because I have three kids. I don't mop the floors or do the laundry. The idea of my husband "firing me" i.e., the maid, should evoke ripples of laughter.

Instead, she looked at me incredulously (as she is a stay-at-home mom of three boys, expecting the fourth one any day now) and said, "You have a maid?"

Anyway, my inner slacker is also taking a beating when it comes to working on my church's website. Part of the frustration charm of my kids attending a Catholic school is the fact that each family has to volunteer 20 hours of time each school year. That doesn't seem like a whole lot when you don't have to do it, but when you have to juggle a toddler and two older kids, and your husband is away from the house a good 12 hours each day it makes it difficult. Oh yeah, and if you don't get your 20 hours in, you pay $10 for every hour missed or your kid will not receive her report card and she will not be promoted to the next grade.

Yeah, those Catholics know how to play hardball.

So we decided we (I) would work on the website for the church's annual auction. I haven't done jack-ola on it yet and the auction is in the middle of May. I kind of don't know what I'm doing (working with Microsoft FrontPage) and I kind of don't want to do it. We hobbled through it last year and it really wasn't such a big deal, but for some reason I am avoiding it like the plague.

Then it gets really awkward at church when I run into the Chairman of the auction and she just gives me a sweet smile. Inside I'm sure she's thinking, "Son of a bitch, when are you going to get off your ass and update the website?!" But she just tells me, "I know you're busy, you'll get to it."

So I have to get it done before church this week. Nothing like guilt as a motivator. (I think I would have made a good Jew.)

I think I'm onto something regarding the laundry. I don't like doing it. So there's a big obstacle right off. But what I realized lately is that it is so much easier to do laundry when you don't have a kid (or kids) trying to help you.

I suppose the answer to that is to get rid of the kids. Ha. Ha.

*

Another thanks: I'm sending an extra 1000 strides on the elliptical trainer to razor-vixen who added me as a favorite recently. Thanks Razor-vixen!

|

2007-03-16 at 7:24 a.m.

last post | next post