Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2006-12-18

another day in paradise

|

This Monday is shaping up to be a pretty good day. Last night I rid our cupboards of all baby bottles. Yes, that's right. No more nipples, no more bottles that list both US ounces and UK ounces. Who knew our friends over the pond have a slightly different way of measuring liquids? (These measurements were brought to you by Avent.) We have moved into sippy cup territory -- all sippy cups, all of the time.

My baby (who is almost 18-months-old and is really a toddler now) has been swiping her 3-year-old sister's sippy cup and bogarting the chocolate milk that inside the cup. So it was time.

Also, today I was able to eat breakfast and visit with my friend Steph, who used to be my kids' babysitter/quasi-nanny. She is 20 and is now a nanny for another family of three children on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. She is so cool.

If I heard that a 38-year-old woman was friends with a 20-year-old woman I would think that was strange. Especially when the 20-year-old is single with no children. But it's really not weird.

We both like to think that Steph is super intelligent and really mature and that's why we get along so well. Not because I am immature and like a 20-year-old. Anyway, we really get along well and we only see each other every six weeks or so, but when we meet up and talk it's like no time has passed. I really appreciate that about her.

Also, she is my Jewish sensei. She explains all of the customs I don't understand and she doesn't make me feel like a dork for asking.

In other news, currently I am procrastinating writing an e-mail to Caroline to tell her that, on second thought, I don't want to visit her infirm mother-in-law at Caroline's house seeing as I might run into Caroline's husband, Rob.

I am so amazed that she would even ask me to come over to her house when she knows how I feel about her husband. Although, we have never really fully discussed what I think of the situation. And she does not want to acknowledge that he came on to me. So it's a bit of a mess and I know she wants me to act like nothing ever happened.

Also, she has taken to bitching and complaining about her husband to ME, of all people. So far I have bitten my tongue and responded with, "That must be difficult."

Since I am very much averse to confrontation, I usually go with that plan of action. (Acting like nothing happened and quietly sucking it up.) However, this time both my husband and I are really angry at Rob and we are not willing to quietly suck it up. However, we have kept it quiet in the family and I am really starting to feel resentful about that. It feels like this is HIS dirty secret and I am left holding the bag.

So I decided I will send her a note that tells her it's not going to work out to visit her mother-in-law at her house. Sorry if that mucks things up, but I just cannot do it.

Other than that, it's just another quiet Monday here in paradise.

|

2006-12-18 at 1:08 p.m.

last post | next post