Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2006-11-21

the wait is over

|

Today is Thank God I Don't Have Cancer Day.

Yes, that's right. I called the office today because I couldn't deal with going away for Thanksgiving and not knowing what the results were until the following Monday.

Looks like everything inside the ole uterus is just hunky dory.

Can I get an Amen? Thank you.

So now I have a couple of options to consider.

First I can do nothing and deal with the excess each month. The nurse did say that might result in anemia, but it hasn't happened yet.

Second I can take the Pill, which will regulate my hormones, until I hit menopause. I'm not sure how long til menopause. Caroline had a hysterectomy when she was 46. Claire and Kim still have regular periods (at 50 and 48, respectively.) I think my mom said she didn't hit menopause til her mid-50s. Taking the Pill every day for the next 18 years would suck big time.

Third, I can take progesterone (hormones) ten days out of the month. Similar concept to taking the Pill, however, I would have to pay close attention so I remember which days to take the meds. That already sounds like too much work to me.

Fourth, I can have Merina, an Intra-Uterine Contraceptive, inserted during an office visit and that will last for five years. That will deliver progesterone directly into the uterus. The thought of having a "device" semi-permanently inserted sounds kind of disconcerting. Any chicks out there with experience in this department?

The last option is to have outpatient surgery to scrape out the uterus. The nurse said that might result in no periods ever again. Man that would be sweet.

So I'm not sure what I'm going to do. But I'm extremely thankful the wait is over.

|

2006-11-21 at 12:31 p.m.

last post | next post