Cardiogirl 19 percent body fat 100 percent fun

2006-11-11

a few ramblings

|

Just rambling.

I have an appointment with the eye doctor today. I get a tad nervous as he gets down to the lenses where both A and B look almost the same.

My voice begins to falter as I "pick" the best option. Eventually it becomes a question back to him -- A? That's when I wonder if he is clicking between the same lenses to see if I'm making stuff up or if I'm being honest.

***

I don't like it when Microsoft Word gets high and mighty with its grammar/spell check and underlines things in green. Yes, that's right. I intended to write a sentence fragment. Right there. In that paragraph. I'm trying to get the reader into my state of mind. I want to be disjointed. Stop being so anal retentive M. Word. Go take your green line somewhere else.

And good DAY sir!

***

The other day I was driving home from Costco and I saw two old women standing on the corner of my street talking. They were both out for a solitary walk and they were just chatting before going on their separate ways. Both of them have white hair, but they seem pretty fit and spry.

Anyway, one of the women had her hands behind her back and was holding a very long stick, looked like it was about four feet long, that obviously fell from a tree. It was pretty thick and sturdy. It kind of looked like a weapon, not a walking stick, per se.

And it just looked really absurd to see two women who appeared to be in their mid-70's talking casually, while one of them was holding a huge stick behind her back.

***

I have three daughters (6, 3 and 16 months old) and I'm trying to be a good role model to them of what I think a woman should be like. I don't want them to grow up to be prissy and girlie, cause that's not me.

So whenever I see a spider in the house, or a bee or wasp flying about my head outside, I make a conscious effort to remain calm. But my initial response is to completely freak out in my head and then try to talk myself off the ledge.

My husband, on the other hand, yells and runs when he sees a bee.

So the bee thing isn't really working very well with my daughters.

***

I used to think I was pretty low-maintenance when it came to food, but a couple years ago I realized I'm a finicky eater. I'm not thrilled with that label, but once I acknowledged it, it was easier to come to terms with it.

Now I like to think of it as a quality control issue where said food item has to gain clearance at Checkpoint Charlie.

Example: I like coffee with real cream (half and half). If you just have milk (skim, whole or any other kind) I will politely decline. Why consume it, if I really don't like it?

I'm not going to bitch about it, I'll just say, no thank you.

One more example: I like freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. The emphasis is on "freshly baked." I like them for about two hours after they come out of the oven. After that, they start to taste stale to me. My solution has been to make the mix, bake a dozen, and then form the rest of the mix into small balls and put them into the freezer.

Then, when I'm in the mood for cookies, I can bake as many or as few as I want. I could look at that particular situation as me being neurotic and crazy, or me being efficient.

I choose efficiency.

Like my dad always says, it's just how you look at it.

|

2006-11-11 at 8:13 a.m.

last post | next post